Another Step in the Journey: Bell’s Expedition Stout


Bell's Expedition Stout: Motor Oil-y!

Bell’s Expedition Stout
Imperial Stout
ABV: 10.5%
100% on RateBeer

I love a great Imperial Stout.  I love the fact that it feels as though it is sliding down my throat when I drink it.  I love the slight alcohol burn as it warms.  And I love the dark, bittersweet taste of malt.  There are very few things I don’t like about Imperial Stouts, which means I try a lot of them.  I have journeyed through Left Hand’s Wake Up Dead, Avery’s Czar, Great Divide’s Yeti and most notably Founder’s Imperial Stout.  Founder’s has been the pinnacle; that by which I measure all others.  However, after trying Expedition, I’m beginning to think that I’ve been a bit shortsighted.  Expedition Stout gives Founder’s a run for it’s money as top Imperial Stout in my books.  It’s a good thing that there really is no need to just choose one.

Tasting Notes:
pours motor oil thick with a thin head
heavy chocolate aroma
tastes burnt, but in a good way…like roasted marshmallow skins
warms to a nice creamy caramel
nice warm alcohol tingle

Like a cold winter’s day, John J. McCauley III’s voice will chill you to the bone.  And like Bell’s Expedition Stout it’ll heat your soul like a blazing oil drum trash fire in a dark alley….perhaps I stretched the metaphor too far.  Here’s Deer Tick with “Piece By Piece and Frame By Frame”.


Leave a Reply

